Skip to main content


The Bias Response and Referral Network has two components:

  • Executive oversight is provided by the executive vice president and provost, the vice president for equity and diversity, and their lead staff members as assigned.
  • The BRRN Working Team is charged with responding to bias incidents on the Twin Cities campus that have been reported to the BRRN, but does not itself have an investigative or disciplinary role. The team meets regularly to discuss incidents and trends. A group of staff leads provides overall coordination for the team, works with the executive oversight leaders, responds to incident reports on a day-to-day basis, and identifies issues for discussion with the full team. The full team includes representatives from the below units and campus entities.

Bias Response and Referral Network Core Working Team

Ad hoc*

  • Jenny Porter, School of Public Health
  • Patricia Izek, Diversity Community of Practice (DCoP)
  • Katie Eichele, Aurora Center

Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action

  • Anna Horning Nygren**

Faculty Representatives

  • Tania Mitchell, College of Education and Human Development (CEHD)
  • Karen Miksch, Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee, CEHD

*Ad hoc members are chosen to fill essential perspectives related to their work or the communities they represent.

**Staff leads

Global Programs and Strategy Alliance

  • Barbara Kappler
  • Xi Yu

The Graduate School

  • Noro Andriamanalina

Office for Equity and Diversity

  • Lisa Marshall**

Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost

  • TBA

Office of the General Counsel

  • Carrie Ryan Gallia**

Office of Human Resources

  • Lovey Peissig

Office of the President

  • Megan Sweet

Office for Student Affairs

  • Laura Knudson**
  • Karmen McQuitty, Student Legal Service
  • Erik Dussault, Student Unions and Activities

University Services

  • David Hutton
  • Coy Hillstead